Manohar Parikar to be CM of Goa

Bhartiya Janta party’s leader Manohar parikar has finally been sworn as the Chief Minister of Goa after the dismal of Plea by the Supreme court put forth by the rival Congress.

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office and secrecy to Parrikar and nine ministers at a simple ceremony held at Governor House, located in picturesque Dona Paula locality of Goa capital Panaji. Parrikar cabinet included all three members of the Goa Front party, two each from BJP and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and two independents.

Ramakrishna ‘Sudin’ Dhavalikar (MGP), Vijai Sardesai (GF), Francis D’Souza (BJP), Manohar Azgaonkar (MGP), Rohan Khaunte (Independent) Pandurang Madkaikar (BJP), Govind Gaude (Independent). Vinod Palyekar (GF) and Jayesh Salgaonkar (GF) have been sworn-in as cabinet ministers.

Parikar may add two more ministers to his cabinet since the constitutional gives the power  to have 12 minister in the cabinet.

The Supreme Court, while making way clear for Parrikar as new Goa chief minister, has instructed him to prove his majority on the floor of the assembly on Thursday, while asking the Election Commission to finish all formalities related with the formation of the new assembly by Wednesday.

Proving majority may not be difficult considering eight out of nine leaders who helped BJP in having backdoor majority have been accommodated in the Parrikar cabinet.


Leave a Reply