Trivender Singh Rawat to be new CM of Uttarakhand

It is now official that Trivender Singh Rawat will be the new CM of Uttrakhand. Trivendra Singh Rawat, who was elected the leader of BJP legislature party on Friday afternoon, will now be the new chief minister of Uttarakhand.

Trivendra’s oath taking ceremony will be held on Saturday at the Dehradun Parade Ground, which several big members and leaders from the BJP including Prime Minister Narendra Modi are expected to attend. Preparations for the swearing-in were started a day before the chief ministerial decision was announced, and the venue is all decked up to welcome the dignitaries scheduled to attend the swearing-in.

His cabinet consists of names like  Rekha Arya, Madan Kaushik, Subodh Uniyal, Harbans Kapoor, Vanshidhar Bhagat, Gopal Rawat, Bishan singh Chufal and Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion. Satpal Maharaj is likely to be made the Uttarakhand Assembly Speaker.


Trivendra Singh Rawat’s name has been proposed by senior BJP leader Satpal Maharaj and former Assembly speaker Prakash Pant at the meeting of the BJP legislature party, both of whom were  in race for the state Chief Minister’s job. However, Trivendra’s close association with the Rashtriya Swayam Sevak Sangh (RSS) is said to be a strong factor behind him being chosen as the chief minister. He was a full-time pracharak of the RSS from 1983 to 2002 and held the post of organisation secretary in Uttarakhand region and later the state, after its secession from Uttar Pradesh in 2000.


Leave a Reply